google42e10469576d8148.html

Box boys ready to take on the world in Canada

Screenshot 2019-09-20 at 21.16.44.png

England Box get their World Championship campaign underway tonight as they take on hosts Canada in their opening match of the 2019 World Indoor Lacrosse Championship in Langley, BC.

After being one of the odd teams given a rest day for the opening set of fixtures, the team are raring and ready to go after experiencing the opening ceremony yesterday.

The squad have been together in Canada since Saturday and have had two warm-up scrimmages against Germany and Australia, winning the first and losing the second both by a two-goal margin, as all the teams shook off the jet lag and ring rust ahead of the matches that matter.

It will be a fearsome task for the England side against reigning World Champions Canada who beat USA 16-6 last night and are 24-0 at the World Indoor Championships since the first edition back in 2003.

But the side will relish the challenge in front of a big partisan home crowd and will look forward to testing themselves against the best in the world in the blue division.

Tonight’s match along with every single game from the Championship can be watched at laxsportsnetwork.com with the face-off at 12.30am UK Time/7.30pm ET/4.30pm PT.

England Pool Fixtures

v Canada - (Evening of) Friday 20 September - 12.30am
v Israel - (Evening of) Saturday 21 September - 12.30am
v Iroquois Nationals - Monday 23 September - 3.30am
v USA - (Evening of) Monday 23 September - 12.30am

England Squad

Goalies

89 - Eliot Pugh
92 - Frank Scigliano

Field

2 - Caius Jefferies
9 - Jamie Sutton
12 - Matt Marsh
13 - Tyson Roe
15 - Will Walker
16 - Chris Wainer
17 - Nate Clare
21 - Dave Cluney
22 - Brandan Smith
24 - Ben Colville
25 - Caleb Kueber
29 - Tony Joseph
36 - Matt Tatton
40 - Will Allsop
48 - Albert Whitehead
49 - Dan Eckersall
51 - Tom Roche
87 - Dom Fitzgerald
88 - Gavin Abrahamson
93 - Sam Clare
97 - Lyndon Bunio